In other words

We need not to be let alone.
We need to be really bothered once in a while.
How long is it since you were really bothered?
About something important, about something real?
Ray Bradbury, Fahrenheit 451, 1953

Being bothered about something real usually means in my case some kind of injustice I have noticed against someone or something. I agree that we need to be bothered every once in a while, it will keep us awake and, somehow, reminds us that we are capable of feeling and caring. If what upsets us is close to our own emotions we might even come into action and actually do something about it. Right, what winds me up the most is animal cruelty!

The last time I was furious is a while ago, probably about a year, but I can still remember my frustration. I read in the local newspaper that someone (willingly) had trown their dog from a bridge onto a busy road. The dog was hit by a truck. The local animal rescue team came to the scene as soon as possible to help the poor animal. Later that month I read some good news about the dog.. thankfully due to the kindness and care of the rescue team he survived!

Can you believe such cruelty… I still get mad thingking about it…

In Other Words

How to Play

Weekly – Tuesdays:
Copy the current quotation(s) to your weblog or paper journal, then use it as a writing prompt. Do you agree with the message in the quote? Do you disagree? Would you have phrased this thought differently? What does this quote remind you of? What does it make you think of?

Leave a Reply

